Notable Alumni

CSSA is proud to highlight the success of our former board members and student representatives who have graduated from various CSU campuses. CSSA alumni make up a network of over 2,000 former student leaders working in the public, private, and non-profit sectors.

For more information on alumni events or how alumni can reconnect with CSSA, please contact Miles Nevin.

CSSA Alumni in Business:

  • Mohammed Shahid Beig, Audit Associate, KPMG (CSU East Bay)
  • Dina Cervantes, Vice President, Del Sol Group (CSU Northridge)
  • Bridgette Dussan, Executive Team Leader, Target (Sonoma State)
  • Bob Linscheid, President/CEO, San Francisco Chamber of Commerce (CSU Chico)
  • Shaun Lumachi (1978-2011), Publisher, Long Beach Post (CSU Sacramento)
  • Lou Monville, Vice President, O’Reilly Public Relations/Trustee, California State University (CSU San Bernardino)
  • Katie Morrow, Account Manager, Microsoft (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo)
  • Jennifer Reimer, In-House Counsel, LG Electronics (CSU Fresno)
  • Brandon Souza, Account Manager, AdFarm (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo)
  • Danny Vivian, Financial Advisor, LPL Financial (CSU Long Beach)

CSSA Alumni in Education:

  • Erik Fallis, Senior Manager of Operations, University Relations and Advancement, California State University Office of the Chancellor (CSU San Bernardino/Long Beach)
  • Steven M. Glazer, Trustee, California State University (San Diego State)
  • Bill Hauck (1940-2014), Trustee, California State University (San Jose State)
  • Jorge Haynes, Senior Director of External Relations, California State University Office of the Chancellor (CSU Sacramento)
  • Laura Kerr, General Manager, California Charter Schools (Humboldt State)
  • Brandon Kline, Institutional Advocacy Communications, University of California Office of the President (CSU Sacramento)
  • Russel Statham, Chief Financial Officer, CSU Dominguez Hills Foundation (CSU Fresno)
  • Hironao Okahana, Research Associate, Council of Graduate Schools (CSU Long Beach)

CSSA Alumni in Government (Appointed and Elected):

  • Nicole Anderson, First Lieutenant, United States Marine Corps (CSU Sacramento)
  • Yuri Beckelman, Deputy Chief of Staff, US Rep. Mark Takano (CSU Monterey Bay)
  • Aissa Canchola, Majority Staff at United States Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (CSU Fullerton)
  • Hon. Dr. Robert Garcia, Mayor, City of Long Beach (CSU Long Beach)
  • Andrew Janz, Law Clerk, Nevada District Court (CSU Stanislaus)
  • Hon. Ricardo Lara, California State Senate (San Diego State)
  • Hon. Marc Levine, California State Assembly (CSU Northridge)
  • Grant Mack, Energy Policy Advisor, California Energy Commission (San Diego State)
  • Nancy E. McFadden, Executive Secretary, Office of California Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr. (San Jose State)
  • Eric Niu, Special Assistant, US Office of Personnel Management (CSU Fullerton)
  • The late Hon. Jenny Oropeza, California State Senate and Assembly (CSU Long Beach)
  • Hon. Artemio Pimentel, Council Member and Mayor, City of Woodland (CSU Sacramento)
  • Krista Parker, Special Assistant, US Department of Homeland Security (San Diego State)
  • Hon. Jose Solache, President, Lynwood School Board (Dominguez Hills)
  • Hon. Bob Whalen, Council Member, City of Clovis (CSU Fresno)

CSSA Alumni in Non-profit Management:

  • Joe Banez, Government Affairs and Advocacy Specialist, Pancreatic Cancer Action Network (CSU Chico)
  • Sean Connelly, Legislative Director, University of California Student Association (Cal Maritime)
  • Shannon Stratton, Executive Director, Associated Students Inc., CSU San Bernardino (CSU San Bernardino)
  • Sean South, Associate Director of Policy and Legislation, California Primary Care Association (CSU Sacramento)
  • Christy Zamani, Executive Director, Day One (CSU Long Beach)